Fold over Clutch by Michelle Patterns

I had fun making the Michelle Patterns Fold Over Clutch to take to Quilt Market this fall. The style is simple and holds just the essentials. Mochi Linen from Moda was just the right weight for the exterior. I love the construction which allows for a fun feature fabric to be the accent down the center of the bag.

A light fusible interfacing was added to the interior fabric from Cotton + Steel XOXO in Chartreuse. The sassy pop of color in the zipper and lining plays well off the gray. FYI – An iPhone 4s fits perfectly in the exterior pocket.

I love the size and shape of the bag. I may tend to over stuff a small bag so, if I were to make it again I would add an inch to the height. The strap was added by cutting a 3 inch wide strip of Mochi, fold each side into the center then over again. Tabs were placed just above the line of the snap on the pocket. My strap is 49 inches long.

There are 2 sizes in the Fold Over Clutch. I chose the large size which measures 9.5″ x 10.5″ x 2″. I would definitely make this bag again. I’m quite pleased with how it turned out!

Happy sewing!
~Diana

 

Leave a Reply

